La Cure Du Maine Charles

The bed and breakfast in the heart of nature

Required fields are followed by *





Live a dream holiday

A castle in the heart of cognac

It is a former presbytery converted into a castle around 1850. It is located on the place called Maine Charles. 200 meters from any home and 300 meters from the village of Birac, on a chalky ridge, hundred meters above sea level, it enjoys a superb view and a unique isolation and silence. Surrounded by fields of wheat and sunflowers, vineyards, meadows and a forest of oaks, it is a small jewel in its case. The building is adorned with three towers each with its function as a living room cover.

Housing and comfort

A large residence with ecological comfort

The interior consists of twenty rooms, including two living rooms, two dining rooms, two kitchens and five bedrooms all with a bathroom / WC internal or private / external. The entrance type 18th century Charente opens onto a large garden with secular trees and welcome shade in summer. All around, the outbuildings, including barnyard, sheepfold, barn, stable, sheds, Cognac cellars, granary and garage. Outside, a huge park of 5 ha crossed by a path of land, and lined with meadows where donkeys and horses graze. Central heating is provided in winter by an ecological wood boiler, and in half-seasons by fireplaces.

A very old house

A house of the 18th converted into guest rooms

In the forest of oaks, known as Bois du Breuil, the Gallic name which signifies refuge for animals, all sorts of animals are home to rabbits, hares, deer, wild boars, golden pheasants, birds of various species, and so on. The environment is totally preserved thanks to the oxygenation lung of our oak forest, thanks also to the organic cultivation of 4 ha of vineyards and cereal fields surrounding the buildings. Not to mention the animal park and its reserve of fertilizer for the vegetable garden. The rooms are all on the first floor.

Support services

• Large dining room for breakfast service.

• Kitchenette et petite salle à manger à disposition pour pique-niques ou en-cas.

• Small lounge on the first floor, provided with hot drinks tea and coffee.

• Garden equipment.

• Games for children: ping-pong, petanque, tackle, springboard, bikes, board games.

La Cure Du Maine Charles

Les chambres d’hôtes en pleine nature

Les champs obligatoires sont suivis de *





Vacances de rêve dans nos chambres d’hôtes

Un château au coeur de Cognac et d’Angoulême

C’est un ancien presbytère converti en château vers 1850. Il est situé sur le lieu-dit Maine Charles. A 200 mètres de toute habitation et à 300 mètres du village de Birac, sur une crête crayeuse, à cent mètres d’altitude, il jouit d’une vue superbe et d’une situation unique et isolement. Entouré de champs de blé et de tournesol, de vignobles, de prairies et d’une forêt de chênes, c’est un petit joyau dans son écrin. Le corps de bâtiment est orné de trois tours ayant chacune sa fonction de couverture de pièce d’habitation.

Logement et confort

Une grande résidence au confort écologique

L’intérieur de nos chambres d’hôtes est formé d’une vingtaine de pièces, dont deux salons, deux salles à manger, deux cuisines et cinq chambres à coucher toutes pourvues d’une salle d’eau/WC interne ou privative/externe. L’entrée de type XVIII° siècle charentais ouvre sur un grand jardin clos aux arbres séculaires et à l’ombre bienvenue en été. Tout autour, les dépendances, dont basse-cour, bergerie, étable, écurie, hangars, chais à Cognac, grenier à grains et garage. Côté extérieur, un immense parc de 5 ha traversé par une allée de terre, et bordé de prairies arborées où paissent ânes et chevaux. Le chauffage central est assuré en hiver par une écologique chaudière à bois, et, lors des demi-saisons par des cheminées.

Un très vieux logement

Un logis du 18ème transformé en chambres d’hôtes

Dans la forêt de chênes, dite Bois du Breuil, nom gaulois qui signifies refuge pour les animaux, toutes sortes de bêtes gitent lapins, lièvres, chevreuils, sangliers, faisans dorés, oiseaux d’espèces variées, etc. L’environnement est totalement préservé grâce au poumon d’oxygénation de notre forêt de chênes, grâce aussi à la mise en culture biologique des 4 ha de vignes et des champs de céréales qui entourent les bâtiments. Sans compter le parc animalier et sa réserve d’engrais pour le jardin potager. Les chambres se trouvent toutes au premier étage.

Les services d’appoint

• Grande Salle à manger pour le service des petits déjeuners.

• Kitchenette et petite salle à manger à disposition pour pique-niques ou en-cas.

• Petit salon au premier étage, fourni en boissons chaudes thé et café.

• Equipement de jardin.

• Jeux pour les enfants : ping-pong, pétanque, agrès, tremplin, vélos, jeux de société.